Uncovering the Glaciers in Southern Iceland

IMG_2206.jpg

After a scrumptuous breakfast at my Vík airbnb, I went to bid goodbye to the sheep, chickens and horses before setting off towards Skaftafell a wilderness area of the Vatnajökull National Park where we hiked to the Svartifoss waterfall and Skaftafellsjökull glacier. The South of Iceland is colder and usually more cloudy. The drive nearer to Skaftafell was like a scene out of an apocalyptic movie.

1. Skaftafell – Svartifoss waterfall

IMG_2218 (1).jpg

Finally, I reach Skaftafell National Park and started on the hike to Svartifoss waterfall. With my cold weather knee pain, it was a real struggle climbing up, across ridges, ravines and rivers with my knee pain but I made it. The weather was gloomy in Southern Iceland but that seems to be the case for this area. 

IMG_2214 (1).jpg

IMG_2225 (1).jpg

Half way through we digressed, distracted by a scene out of lord of the rings. There were some ancient looking houses and in the distance you are able to catch the sight of another glacier. 

IMG_2229.jpg

IMG_2236.jpg

Notice the house covered in grass. But these were so mysterious, I wonder if any one stays inside or at least some farm animals. Some houses had windows and home interior decor within. I couldn’t get much photos here because rain started to hit, weather was stirring up real nasty. I rushed to get back on track to see Svartifoss. And finally Svartifoss after hiking for about three hours.

IMG_2261.jpg

It wasn’t as impressive as I thought compared to Gullfoss or any other renowned waterfall. The waterfall stream was not as ‘bursting’ and that could be due to frozen upstreams. Overall, the hike for Svartifoss then back to the starting point took about 3.5 to 4 hours. If you don’t have enough time I wouldn’t recommend it. I rather you do the glacier walk or ice caves tour. If not check out Skaftafellsjökull glacier.

2.   Skaftafell – Skaftafellsjökull

After resting for a bit at the starting point, we walked to the right side of Skaftafell. We had no idea what to expect on the right side. It was breathtaking. You could walk up to the glacier and touch it. This field blow is near the starting point towards the glacier.

IMG_2290.jpg

IMG_2291.jpg

The moss covered terrain was an early indication of spring. Follow the gravel path below which will lead you towards the glacier. Following the track to the glacier front will take you about 45 minutes. So be mentally prepared! But I encourage you to do it! You are already in Iceland.

IMG_2298.jpg

The glacier melts into a lake. If you intend to head down towards the lake be wary of quicksand and thread carefully. I shall just let the images speak for themselves. You have to be there because  my pictures do not justify how epic the scenery is.

IMG_2313 (1).jpg

IMG_2320 (1).jpg

IMG_2327 (1).jpg

See those wet and muddy areas, those are quicksand booby traps. Avoid this area if not there won’t be anyone to save you in the cold weather harsh weather.

IMG_2345 (1).jpg

IMG_2407.jpg

Getting upclose to an iceberg. So far I haven’t got a change to see a flipped iceberg. The flipped iceberg is said to be crystal blue in colour.

IMG_2456.jpg

IMG_2422.jpg

IMG_2528.jpg

I wished I could leave my presence there. When I needed a space of peace, I could teleport my consciousness there and be at peace.

3. Fjallsárlón Glacier Lagoon

IMG_2621 (1).jpg

Out of the three glaciers I covered during the journey, my favourite is Fjallsárlón Glacier. It has less tourist and is flanked by 2 mountains. Oh my it’s a scene out of World of Warcraft Wrath of the Litch King expansion. (FYI: World of Warcraft is a multiplayer online roleplaying game) Yes yes, once upon a time I was a gamer but I completely sucked at it and quit. Should have invested my time on other things such as music production. Wish someone taught me such stuff in the past.

Well anyway, there’s this place called Dragonblight in the game where dragons go to die. This place reminded me of that place. It is quite a distance to walk to the glacier lake. But again well worth it to walk down and get a couple of photography shots. From another angle, you could see the glacier lake scattered with broken icebergs. 

IMG_2541 (1).jpg

There are boat tours that you can do to get up close to the icebergs. Not sure about the price but I’m satisfied looking at the view from the land. 

IMG_2613.jpg

4. Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon

IMG_2659 (1).jpg

Jökulsarlon Glacier Lagoon is the biggest glacier out of three and has the biggest glacier lagoon with many floating icebergs. You can occasionally hear the crackling of the icebergs and icebergs colliding with each other.

IMG_2661 (1).jpg

IMG_2668.jpg

I parked on the side of the glacier lagoon. You can cross the main road to the beach area where icebergs gets washed up onto the beach. It is an absolute spot for instagramming and ootds. But it was one of the coldest place I had been exploring Iceland. 

IMG_2713 (1).jpg

IMG_2723.jpg

IMG_2725.jpg

IMG_2728.jpg

IMG_2716.jpg

5. Hofn

IMG_2740.jpg

After Jökulsarlon Glacier Lagoon, it was time to call it a day. The day’s pit stop is at Höfn. My accommodation was at Höfn Hostel. Not the best place I have stayed. You have to pay for towels if you need to.

IMG_2754 copy.jpg

I regretted not taking the car out to search for food around the small town. Walking around the town took me 45 minutes.

IMG_2743 copy.jpg IMG_2742.jpg

We were quite cold, hungry and it was hitting 9pm. At last, we found a restaurant by the harbour that served one of the best lamb chop I had. I attribute it to the free range and organic grass that sleeps in Iceland enjoy. It was so tasty and tender. Well personally I love the smell of lamb meat that some people find off-putting. Coupled with the local beer. It was the best way to end of the day. Vatnajökull beer soooooo good!

IMG_2746 copy.jpg

IMG_2748 copy.jpg

As I walked back to the hostel I noticed in the distance that from Höfn, you could see 3 glaciers. I remember the sight of this place. The sheer epicness of Iceland could be summed up in this image. You must experience for yourself what a marvel nature can be. Glaciers and mountains make you feel so small when you stand in front of nature.

IMG_2749 (1) copy.jpg

IMG_2752 (1) copy.jpg

IMG_2750 (1).jpg

Stay tuned! And be updated with our latest post by liking http://www.facebook.com/teepeetravels

Leave a Reply

